Muffins that taste like doughnuts

My manager left our department on Friday.  So we’re down from 8 to 4 to 3…in my head, the perfect time to bring food into work!

I found this little sucker on Pinterest…and before that, from Tasty Kitchen.

Cinnamon-Sugar Muffins

Prep TIme:  10 minutes     ~     Cook Time:  15 minutes     ~     Total Time:  25 minutes

FOR THE MUFFINS:

  • 1-¾ cup Flour
  • 1-½ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoons Cinnamon
  • ⅓ cups Oil
  • ¾ cups White Sugar
  • 1 whole Egg
  • ¾ cups Milk

FOR THE TOPPING:

  • ¼ cups Butter
  • ⅓ cups White Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Cinnamon
~
  1. Combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.
  2. Combine oil, sugar, egg and milk. Add dry ingredients and stir only to combine.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Meanwhile, melt the butter in a bowl. Combine the white sugar with the cinnamon in another bowl.
  4. Shake muffins out while still hot. Dip muffins in butter, then into the sugar/cinnamon mix. Let cool.  Serves 12.

This is a very easy recipe to make–and it’s made of pantry staples.  I’m always a big fan of recipes that I can make in the morning without having to worry about going to the grocery store the day before!

Of course, I always find a way to screw things up.

Everything started out perfectly fine.  I collected my ingredients…

Ingredients

I mixed the dry ingredients together, the wet ingredients together, and then both! They went in the cupcake pan, which then went in the oven…

…and that was when I realized that, horror of all horrors, I had mistaken my 1/2 cup for a full cup.

In hindsight, this isn’t a huge issue.  But at 7:30 in the morning (don’t judge me for thinking that’s early–I don’t have to get into work until 11!), staring at the red measuring cup in the dishwasher while my muffins were 4 minutes in the oven, my heart skipped a beat.

Shit shit shit shit shit…

I quickly ran to the oven, poked at the batter–still squishy– and dumped it all back into the large bowl.  Somehow, the second 1/2 cup of flour incorporated into the batter and, with a wish and a prayer, I put the muffins back into the oven.

Fresh out of the oven!

They came out looking normal…so I took them out, one by one (I also remembered to spray the pan with cooking oil the second time around), dipped them in butter, then the cinnamon sugar mix, and set them out to cool while I got ready for work.

Ready to eat!

For all my fears that these little doughnut muffins were going to turn out deformed and inedible—they were good.  Really, really good.  Like, people coming into the department to get seconds good.

The muffins had more of a bread-like consistency than your typical muffin, and the cinnamon and nutmeg were present enough in the batter that it didn’t matter that I didn’t cover the muffins from head to toe in cinnamon-sugar.

Now I’m going to go and make them for the second time for my roommates! (I mentioned this was delicious, right??)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers